Charter Members


When the club was began in 1927 there were 21 charter members:


W.J. (Bill) Armfield, Banking (President of the Bank of Randolph)

James M. (Jim) Burns, Automobile Retailing

Chisholm C. (CC) Cranford, Flour Manufacturing

Dr. M.G. (Guy) Edwards, Veterinary Medicine

A.I. (Idyl) Ferree, Publisher

J.P. (Jess) Garner, Garage and Service Station Retailing

Wm. C. (Bill) Hammer, Publisher (of The Courier; also Lawyer and Congressman)

Dr. C.M. (Claude) Hayworth, Surgeon (owner and operator of Memorial Hospital)

R.J. (Ralph) Hilker, City Schools (Superintendent)

H.L. (Henry) Ingram, Refined Oil Products Retailing

D. Bulla (DB) McCrary, Cotton Spinning (President of Acme Hosiery Mills and Sapona Manufacturing)

E.L. (Emmitt) Moffitt, Wheelbarrow Manufacturing

E.H. (Ed) Morris, Trust Officer

Hugh (Hugh) Parks, Hosiery Manufacturing (Parks Hosiery, formerly owner of Randolph Mills, Franklinville)

Rev. J.E. (Jess) Pritchard, Protestant Churches

J.O. (Oscar) Redding, Chair Manufacturer

Arthur (Arthur) Ross, Transportation (half owner of R&R Transportation, the local bus company)

J.D. (Joe) Ross, Banking

J.A. (Joe) Spence, Lawyer

Cleveland (Cleve) Thayer, Electric Light and Power (local manager, CP&L)

W.L. (Wiley) Ward, Cotton Weaving (Leward Manufacturing Co., Worthville)

Club Officers

Bulletin Archives

Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter
For Email Newsletters you can trust